Friday, March 13, 2009

Seat sharing LDF fails to reach agreement

Thiruvananthapuram: A meeting of the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF)in Kerala to decide a seat sharing formula for the Lok Sabha elections ended here Thursday without an agreement.

Assistant secretary of the Communist Party of India (CPI) K.E. Ismail said the party will make its decision clear at 4 p.m.

"We have nothing to say now, you please come at 4 p.m for our press conference," said Ismail here.

In the 2004 elections, the Communist Party of India-Marxist(CPI-M) contested 14 seats, the CPI four and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and the Kerala Congress (Joseph) contested one seat each. The Revolutionary Socialist Party, the Congress-S and the Nationalist Congress Party are also members of the ruling front.

For the past two weeks, the LDF constituents have held many rounds of talks to come to a seat sharing agreement.

According to sources, CPI-M is keen to contest Kozhikode seat in lieu of Wayanad seat. But JD-S has been contesting from Kozhikode since 1980 and does not want to give it up.

The CPI is also not keen to give up Ponnani seat which it has been contesting for years

No comments:

Post a Comment