Friday, March 20, 2009

Kerala to witness several key contests

Thiruvananthapuram (PTI): Battle lines have been clearly drawn with the two fronts led by CPI-M and Congress releasing their list of candidates for the Lok Sabha polls in Kerala which is poised to witness key contests in most seats.

A most keenly-watched contest will be in the prestigious Thiruvananthapuram where the Congress, heading the United Democratic Front, has fielded former Under Secretary General of United Nations, Shashi Tharoor, to wrest the constituency from the CPI, a CPI-M-led LDF constituent.

The state capital is likely to witness a three-way race with the BJP seriously considering fielding former Union minister O Rajagopal.

Prominent contestants include Indian Union Muslim League's national president and Union Minister, E Ahamed, in Malappuram, where he is taking on CPI-M's sitting MP T K Hamsa. Malappuram is the only constituency where sitting MPs are locking horns.

The list of Congress announced last night had several surprises with the contestants including three sitting MLAs, but contrary to what the party had promised, youth and women did not receive sufficient representation.

Kerala has 20 Lok Sabha constituencies.

No comments:

Post a Comment