Saturday, May 16, 2009

UDF charts stunning victory in Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram, Saturday, May 16, 2009: The Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) Saturday managed to grab sixteen seats of Kerala’s 20 Lok Sabha constituencies, including the surprise win of its legislator K. Sudhakaran who ousted the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) from its bastion Kannur.

The seats that have been won by the UDF are Kollam, Idukki, Malappuram, Kannur, Vadakara, Wayanad, Trissur and Chalakudy, Ernakulam, Ponnani, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Mavelikara, Thiruvananthapuram, Pathanamthitta and Kozhikode.

The LDF has won Palakkad, Kasaragod, Attingal and Alathur.

In the 2004 Lok Sabha polls, the UDF was routed and managed to win just one seat when Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate E. Ahamed won the Ponnani seat. Ahamed regained the seat Saturday when he won for the sixth consecutive time.

The largest lead so far has been reported from Wayanad where the Congress candidate MI Shanavaz has set an unassailable lead of 1,53439.

Prominent Congress candidates who have pitched win include Shashi Tharoor with 100045 votes over CPI’s P Ramachandran Nair in Thiruvananthapuram and Union Minister of State for External Affairs and IUML all India president E Ahmed who won by 115569 votes over sitting CPI-M MP T K Hamza in Malappuram.

Speaking to reporters in CPM Headquarters in New Delhi, Prakash Karat, General Secretary, Communist Party of India (Marxist) said, the results were a major set back for the party in West Bengal and Kerala in the Lok Sabha elections. “The election to the Lok Sabha has resulted in a victory to the Congress who will be in a position to form the next government. CPM and the Left parties have suffered a major setback in this elections and a serious examination of the reason for the party’s poor performance. Our politburo is meeting today, after that we will come out with a more detailed response of the whole results,”he added.

No comments:

Post a Comment