Saturday, May 16, 2009

Kerala: LDF gets four seats, UDF bags 16

Saturday,16 May 2009

Thiruvananthapuram, May 16: The CPM-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) Saturday is set to win four seats. The Congress-led UDF is leading in 16 of Kerala's 20 Lok Sabha constituencies, including the surprise win of its legislator K. Sudhakaran who ousted the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) from its bastion Kannur.

The Congress's Hamidullah Sayeed also won the lone seat from Lakshadweep.

Sudhakaran, the Kannur legislator, had been leading by a margin of more than 44,000 votes after about 75 percent of the votes had been counted.

In the 2004 Lok Sabha polls, the UDF was routed and managed to win just one seat when Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate E. Ahamed won the Ponnani seat. Ahamed regained the seat Saturday when he won for the sixth consecutive time.

Jose K. Mani (UDF) - Kottayam
K.C.Venugopal (INC) - Alappuzha
M.K.Raghavan (UDF) -Kozhikode
Shashi Tharoor (INC) - Thiruvananthapuram
A.Sampath (CM) - Attingal'
Mullappally Ramachandran (UDF) - Vadakara
P Karunakaran (CPM) - Kasargo
K.Sudhakaran (INC)- Kannur
K.V. Thomas (INC) - Ernakulam
E.T. Mohammed Basheer (IUML) - Ponnani
P.K.Biju (CPM)- Alathur
Kodikunnil Suresh (INC)- Mavelikkara
Anto Antony (UDF) - Pathanamthitta
M.I. Shanawas (INC) - Wayanad
P.T.Thomas (UDF) - Idukki
K..P.Dhanapalan (INC) - Chalakkudy
P.C. Chacko (INC) - Thrissur
N.Peethambara Kurup (INC) - Kollam
M.B. Rajesh (CPM) - Palakkad
E.Ahmed (IUML) - Malappuram

No comments:

Post a Comment