Saturday, May 16, 2009

No women representatives from Kerala in Lok Sabha

Press Trust of India / May 16, 2009

There would be no women representives to the Lok sabha from Kerala this time with the five women candidates fielded by prominent political parties failing to reach the finish line.

While the CPI(M) fielded two candidates, Congress, BJP and BSP had given tickets to one candidate each.

P Sathidevi, CPI(M)'s sitting MP from Vatakara lost to former union minister, Mullapally Ramachandran of Congress and student leader Sindhu Joy, who contested from Ernakulam constituency was defeated by Prof K V Thomas (Cong), while Congress candidate Shahida Kamal lost to CPI(M) sitting MP, P Karunakaran in Kasaragod.

Kerala has so far sent only seven women to the Lok Sabha.

The poor representation of women is regardless of the fact that female voters outnumber men by 8.56 lakh in the state.

No comments:

Post a Comment