Monday, November 9, 2009

Cong crushes LDF in Kerala assembly by-polls

Thiruvananthapuram, Nov 10 (PTI) Continuing with its impressive performance in the Lok Sabha polls, the Congress- led UDF today retained all three assembly seats where bypolls were held, routing the ruling CPI(M)-led LDF.

The LDF suffered a blow in politically sensitive Kannur, where Congress candidate and former CPI-M MP A P Abdullakutty emerged victorious by a margin of 12,000 votes over CPI-M's M V Jayarajan.

Abdullakutty, who represented Kannur twice in parliament on a CPI-M ticket, was expelled from the party a few months back following serious differences with the CPI-M leadership, after which he joined the Congress.

Congress candidates Dominic Presentation trounced CPI-M's P N Sinulal in Ernakulam by over 8000 votes, while his colleague A A Shukur retained Alappuzha seat by defeating G Krishaparasad of CPI by 4000 votes.

No comments:

Post a Comment