Wednesday, May 18, 2011

UDF Ministry assumes office in Kerala

Thiruvananthapuram: A six-member UDF ministry headed by Congress stalwart Oommen Chandy was sworn in here Wednesday.

Apart from Chandy, others sworn in by Governor R S Gavai at Raj Bhavan are P.K. Kunhalikutty (Indian Union Muslim League), K.M. Mani (Kerala Congress-M), K.P. Mohanan (SJD), T.M. Jacob (Kerala Congress-J), K B Ganesh Kumar (Kerala Congress-B) and Shibu Baby John (RSP-B).

The new ministry would be expanded on May 23 with the induction of 13 more -- nine from lead partner Congress, three from IUML and one from Kerala Congress (M).

Chandy is becoming Chief Minister for the second time after a stint from 2004-06 following the resignation of A K Antony owning moral responsibility for the rout of Congress in Kerala in 2004 Lok Sabha polls.

Chandy, elected for the 10th consecutive time from his pocket borough Puthupally in Kottayam District, was on Sunday elected leader of Congress Legislature Party.

UDF, which won 72 seats to gain a slender margin of four seats in the 140-member House, reached an agreement on ministerial berths and portfolios with its partners.

No comments:

Post a Comment